In state news North Carolina was one of 8 states given the 2022 Defenders of Democracy Award.

Other states who received the award include Arizona, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Michigan, Nevada, Pennsylvania, and Wisconsin. A nonprofit organization called the Center for Election Innovations & Research came up with the award as part of their effort to build voter trust and confidence throughout the country.

According to CEIR this specific award was designed to recognize Americans who courageously stood up against efforts to undermine the democratic process. Individual awards were given to Steve Pershing as a volunteer for the Election Official Legal Defense Network, Chris Krebs and Matt Masterson for their work with the Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency, Linda So and Jason Szep for their investigative reporting, and Judge Thomas B. Griffith and Judge J. Michael Luttig. Founder and Executive Director of CEIR David Becker said “These awardees showed exemplary courage and leadership – under enormous pressure – with the highest level of professionalism, commitment to democracy, and dedication to public service.”